Colouring Outside the Lines

I’m a perfectionist! I like to feel in control of my life and my every action and choice. I’m very meticulous. In fact, I think I’ve always been this way.

I remember when I was younger, I used to organize my food in neat little sections while eating. I also had a practice of eating the different kinds of food together. For example, I’d eat all my vegetables at once, then all the starch or whatever, then I’d always eat my meat last. When I wrote, I always brushed the page habitually and I abused my eraser for the slightest mistakes. Whenever I used pens, I’d rip the page out and start over if I ever made an error. Also, as soon as I got the hang of colouring, I prided myself on colouring inside the lines and I preferred pencil crayons because wax crayons were just too messy. Anywho, enough about me and my quirky ways.
One of the most valuable life lessons I’ve learnt the hard way from being a perfectionist is the art of colouring OUTSIDE the lines.
Life is dynamic. The only constant in life is change. Learning to embrace this fact makes life that much easier.

Life is not a vacuum where only I exist and although I may be responsible for my own decisions, I can’t control the decisions of others, even if they directly affect my life or the destination of any journey I’ve set out on. Also, I believe God is in control of my life and so even though I may pray it’s sunny tomorrow, so I could get to finish everything on my to-do list, it’s entirely up to God to decide if He wants to send an unexpected burst of showers.

Learning to colour outside the lines has helped me prepare for the unexpected in life and has taught me how to adjust and adapt to suit. Instead of worrying about all the plans I may have made and how they might be ruined because of the unexpected turn of events, I’ve learnt instead to see the silver lining around every rain cloud that pops up and to cease opportunities as they arise. I’ve learnt to surrender control entirely to God while still working hard at all I do. That makes things a lot less stressful and the outcome is always better that way.

Being a perfectionist can prevent you from seeing the fun side of life and you may never take a single risk or chance. You may end up going through life so afraid of failure that you never end up trying. So, ironically enough you would’ve still ended up failing by not living up to your potential.

Learning to colour outside the lines can teach you a lot about your strengths and weaknesses.

