I am hearty in …

Too often we underestimate the power of a touc...

Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. (Photo credit: symphony of love)

“I am hearty in my approbation and lavish in my praise.” – Charles Shcwab

I’ve never met anyone who doesn’t appreciate a good compliment. Receiving a compliment can change your mood almost instantly and also changes your opinion of the person who gives it. You automatically warm up to the person and feel more inclined to repay a compliment or consider this person to be “nice” even from just that single interaction.

Maya Angelou in her wisdom said:

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel,”

I couldn’t agree more. I am pretty sure you can think of a million examples that attest to this fact.

So, if we know this to be true, why then don’t we apply this principle in our everyday lives? Why then don’t we seek opportunities to compliment everyone we meet? How often do we just slump into our office, on another “dreadful Monday” just looking forward to “humpday” and finally Friday? How often do we miss out on numerous opportunities to compliment someone on their new hairdo or their smile? How often do we take the time to notice how well someone carries out their daily tasks efficiently and with more enthusiasm than we could ever muster up? I know the answer…RARELY. We rarely take the time to compliment others.

So from this day, I challenge you, pass by someone’s desk or walk around in church and greet someone and chat with them a while, while simultaneously searching for something you can genuinely appreciate about them and let them know it. I guarantee you, you will brighten their day and, as life would have it, your day will also be brightened because you would likely receive a compliment in return or just be satisfied from making someone else’s day.

So today, remember to be hearty in your approbation and lavish in your praise.

